Did you know that your Oklahoma juvenile record can come back to haunt you as an adult?
Most of the time juvenile criminal records are sealed, but there are circumstances when they can cause trouble during your adult years.
Even in adulthood, possession of a firearm by a delinquent if you were once adjudicated as one could get you into a lot of trouble in Okmulgee.
Adjudicated Delinquent Follows You Into Adulthood
If a minor (a child under 18) commits a crime, that minor can be charged in a number of different ways in Oklahoma: as a youthful offender, as a juvenile delinquent, or as an adult. This is a distinction with a difference.
If a minor is an adjudicated delinquent, the matter charged is usually not that severe. Although the minor may spend time in juvenile detention as a result, those records are then sealed and the matter does not affect the minor when he or she reaches adulthood.
However, there is an exception for serious crimes in Okmulgee. If the matter for which the juvenile was adjudicated would have been a felony if committed by an adult, then possession of a firearm by a delinquent is a crime up to 10 years after the original adjudication. (Okla. Stat. tit. 21 § 1283)
Such people may not have any pistol, imitation or homemade pistol, altered air or toy pistol, machine gun, sawed-off shotgun or rifle, or any other dangerous or deadly firearm within his or her possession, custody, control, within a vehicle the person is riding in, or within that person’s home.
Also, lack of knowledge may not be a defense for a possession of a firearm by a delinquent charge in Oklahoma. If your friend brings a gun into your home, you may still get into trouble. This is true even if your friend had the gun lawfully, and even if you were not aware that your friend was carrying a gun.
Penalties for Possession of a Firearm by a Delinquent
Possession of a firearm by a delinquent in Okmulgee is a crime for which the penalty increases with each conviction.
A first conviction for illegal possession of a firearm by a delinquent is punishable by a fine between $100 and $250.
However, a second or subsequent conviction is punishable by a fine ranging from $250 to $500.
In addition, the court may impose a jail sentence ranging from 30 days to six months. (Okla. Stat. tit. 21 § 1276)
Free Consultation: Okmulgee Criminal Defense Attorney
If you or a loved one needs to speak with an Okmulgee criminal defense attorney about a firearm charge in Oklahoma, call 918-756-9600 now for a free consultation.
Or, enter your legal question or concern in the form at the top right of this page, and one of our attorneys will promptly return your message.